Member Spotlight: Kimberly Simms

Congratulations to Emrys Member Kimberly Simms for her forthcoming book of poetry published by Finishing Line Press. The publisher is excited to announce the pre-sales of Kimberly Simms first full-length collection of history inspired poetry: Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill. Simms is the 2016 Carl Sandburg NHS Writer-in-Residence. 

"Kimberly Simms writes with eloquence and empathy about an important part of Southern history too often neglected."

-Ron Rash, Author of Serena, A New York Times bestseller and PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

"I've been reading the Lindy Lee poems for over a decade now, and I'm delighted to see them collected in a volume that amplifies their individual power. In the tradition of Ron Rash, Cathy Smith Bowers, and Linda Ferguson, Kimberly Simms has chronicled the lives of textile workers in the Carolinas with historical accuracy, imaginative insight, and lyrical grace."

-Dr. Gilbert Allen, Author of Catma, Robert Penn Warren Prize Winner