Member Spotlight: Kimberly Simms

Congratulations to Emrys Member Kimberly Simms for her forthcoming book of poetry published by Finishing Line Press. The publisher is excited to announce the pre-sales of Kimberly Simms first full-length collection of history inspired poetry: Lindy Lee: Songs on Mill Hill. Simms is the 2016 Carl Sandburg NHS Writer-in-Residence. 

"Kimberly Simms writes with eloquence and empathy about an important part of Southern history too often neglected."

-Ron Rash, Author of Serena, A New York Times bestseller and PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

"I've been reading the Lindy Lee poems for over a decade now, and I'm delighted to see them collected in a volume that amplifies their individual power. In the tradition of Ron Rash, Cathy Smith Bowers, and Linda Ferguson, Kimberly Simms has chronicled the lives of textile workers in the Carolinas with historical accuracy, imaginative insight, and lyrical grace."

-Dr. Gilbert Allen, Author of Catma, Robert Penn Warren Prize Winner

 

2017 Jo Ann Walker Poetry Scholarship Winner!

Jordan Rice has been named the 2017 Jo Ann Walker Poetry Scholarship recipient.  She is the author of Constellarium (Orison Books, 2016), a 2017 Kate Tufts Award Finalist. Her poems are published in The New York Times Magazine, Blackbird, Colorado Review, Mid-American Review, and elsewhere.

Her poems have been anthologized in Writing the Walls Down, Troubling the Line, The Southern Poetry Anthology: Volume V, Best New Poets, and Best of the Web.

Her work was selected for the Indiana Review Poetry Prize, the Gulf Coast Poetry Prize, the Yellowwood Poetry Prize from Yalobusha Review, the Richard Peterson Poetry Prize from Crab Orchard Review, and the Milton-Kessler Memorial Prize from Harpur Palate.

Rice received an M.F.A. from Virginia Commonwealth University and a Ph.D. from Western Michigan University, where she served as Associate Editor for New Issues Poetry & Prose and as an Assistant Poetry Editor for Third Coast.

Congratulations Jordan!

Emrys Press Chapbook Prize Submissions Open May 15th!

Call for Manuscripts:  May 15, 2017 through July 15, 2017. The winning volume will be published in Dec 2017, by Emrys Press.

The Emrys Press Chapbook Prize honors a book of original poetry in English by a single author; translations are not eligible. The winning poet will receive a $1000 honorarium upon publication plus 20 copies of the book. In addition, he/she will be invited as guest for one week of the Rensing Center, a gorgeous arts/writing retreat near Greenville SC, in the Appalachian foothills (see www.rensingcenter.org). * The winning book and author will be featured on the Emrys website.

Click here for submission guidelines!

Starkey Flythe Jr.’s Poetry Prize Deadline July 31st!

Starkey Flythe Jr. Poetry Prize

In honor of Starkey Flythe Jr.’s commitment to poetry in the CSRA and the surrounding region $500 will be awarded as first prize and $250 to the runner-up in a contest honoring his memory.

Writers must live in Georgia or South Carolina. Deadline: July 31, 2017.
Submit contest entries to acaFlythejrprize@gmail.com.

SUBMIT by sending up to 3 unpublished poems in PDF attachment, each poem a separate attachment, one poem per page no more than 30 lines. Please use single space and 11-12 point font only, NTR or Ariel. There is no entry fee.
Your name or any other identifying information must not appear in the poems. Please include a cover letter with the titles of the poems you are submitting and your preferred contact information in the body of the email. Final judging is blind.

The winner and runner-up will be announced September 23, 2017 at The Berry Fleming Poetry Festival. These poems will be published on the festival website: THE BERRY FLEMING POETRY FESTIVAL